Year in Review

Jan. 3, 2014, edition

Benedictine Sister Nancy Bauer became the new chancellor, upon the Sept. 30 retirement of Catherine “Cate” Coghloan.

Curt Hanson became the new director of the diocesan Stewardship and Development Office and executive director of The Catholic Foundation, upon the Aug. 16 retirement of George Sjogren.

St. Mary’s Cathedral gets a fresh new look

oelrichstmarysFather Tony Oelrich, rector of St. Mary’s Cathedral in St. Cloud, takes a moment to appreciate the details visible in the newly refurbished cathedral. Work — begun in January and completed in early May — included window and ceiling details now visible with fresh paint, and a new granite floor and kneelers for the pews.

Photo by Paul Middlestaedt
For The Visitor






In memoriam

In 2013, the St. Cloud Diocese lost six priests and one deacon to death.
Father Francis Poncelet Jan. 24
Father Virgil Braun Feb. 22
Father Leon Slominski March 22
Father Donald Rieder May 18
Father Richard Kalkman May 18
Msgr. Daniel Taufen Sept. 8
Deacon John Scott Feb. 28

A gift of Kenyan fabric comes full circle

kenyafabricDiocesan coordinator of mission education Kateri Mancini delivers a sundress — made of Kenyan fabric and sewed in the St. Cloud Diocese — to an infant with her sister and mother Delilah, members of the Emmaus Parish in Rongo in the Homa Bay Diocese in Kenya. The fabric was given to Helen Campbell, a 2009 diocesan delegate to Homa Bay, whose mission group women from St. Catherine Parish in Mora then created sundresses. Mancini was one of the 11 members of the 2013 delegation to Homa Bay from Sept. 10-24.

Photo courtesy of Kateri Mancini



Diocese welcomes new permanent deacons

Bishop John Kinney ordained three men permanent deacons for the diocese June 8 at St. Mary’s Cathedral. The new permanent deacons are Jim Trout of St. Michael Parish in St. Cloud, Bert Bliss of St. Joseph Parish in St. Joseph and Mark Stenger of Sacred Heart Parish in Dent.

On June 22, four candidates — Mitchell Bechtold, Timothy Gapinski, Aaron Nett and Jeremy Theis — were ordained transitional deacons, moving them one step nearer to the priesthood.