Windows to the faith

Categories: Around the Diocese


In March The Visitor published a story about a couple, Gary and Mary Schultz of Browerville, who had restored the vibrant stained glass windows of more than 20 churches across the St. Cloud Diocese. We invited readers to send a photograph of a favorite window from their church. This is a sampling of the images we received.


The Nativity of Our Lord, St. Mary of the Presentation Church, Breckenridge — One of 12 created by Dieterich Spahn of Wayzata, Minn., and installed for the parish centennial in 1998.


Wheat, St. Francis Xavier Church, Sartell — Wheat is symbolized between the double crosses in this modern window created in the 1980s by Dieterich Spahn.


The Holy Family, St. Frederick Church, Verndale — Setting is Joseph’s workshop is the theme of this window. The present St. Frederick Church was constructed in 1919; artist and date are unknown.


The Good Shepherd, Holy Cross Church, Butler — More than 100 years old, was moved from a Methodist church in Montevideo, Minn., and restored by Gary and Mary Schultz.


Mary’s seven sorrows, Seven Dolors Church, Albany — The seven sorrows of the Blessed Virgin Mary are depicted in this rose window; each motif has one or more daggers which symbolically pierced her heart. The artist and date are unknown.



The Agony in the Garden, St. John the Baptist Church, Meire Grove — Believed to be created in 1923 or 1924.


SS. Peter and Paul Church, Elrosa — Guardian angels are the subject of two windows in SS. Peter and Paul Church, while 12 additional windows depict the Apostle’s Creed. Created in 1925 by the workshop of Dr. Heinrich Oidtmann, in Linnich, Germany, which boasts being Purveyors to His Holiness the Pope and is now the oldest stained glass workshop in Germany.


Lamb of God, St. Mary Church, Melrose — The pascal lamb rests on the Bible alongside a flag, signifying Christ’s victory over death in this intricate rose window. Believed to have been part of the original 1989 church called St. Boniface.


St. Patrick, St. Nicholas Church, Belle River — St. Patrick is featured one of eight large windows installed in 1915.